Logo

Feels like a stretch?

Jamespio

I've been working for a couple years on a 1966 or so SabreCraft, with an identical vintage Mercruiser package including the GM inline 6. It's been nothing but a PITA, but I'm too dumb to quit.

I got the boat in early '22, tuned it up, got it running, put maybe 10 hours on the engine (during which I had a lot of fun). Not surprisingly, it still had some hiccups. Both ignition and fuel mixing were problematic and after it died on the water twice I put it away for the season. Winter of '23 I upgraded to a knock-off HEI system, rebuilt the carb and as part of addressing fuel system problems I found and installed period appropriate mechanical water pump, and replaced all the fuel line from the water/fuel separator/filter to the carb. What I did not do was drain and replace the fuel as part of either my winterizing or de-winterizing tasks.

After all this work, the engin ran as well as a 50-year old pickup truck engine can run. For about another two hours. And when it died on me again, and after I diagnosed that fuel was not getting through the fuel pump and to the carb (even after I replaced the fuel pump with another new fuel pump), I put the boat away again. It's spring, and hope springs eternal right? I'd still like to get her on the water.