Logo

Model 200 20hp Transom clamp

DougWP

Hi there.
First time poster....

I have a couple of Model 200 outboards I was hoping to make a decent runner of.

First problem on my list is the tiller handle base is hitting and rubbing on the top of the transom clamp.

Im new to working on these old girls so I have no idea exactly what is the trouble.
The swivel has some play but its not that serious .

I am leaning towards the theory that there are rubber mounts that have worn out and the this allowing the engine to sit lower than it should....

Any advice on how I could shim this problem away or links to where I can find the appropriate replacement rubbers.
Engines are Canadian Mercs, made in the 70s .

Merc doesn't even list parts for these, a dealer would likely turn me away.

Sold by Johns Jaworsky outboard motor...

That dealer is long gone lol

Why would you say parts are not listed.???----Listed right here with a few clicks on this page.-----Northern Ontario is fairly big I heard.

Why would you say parts are not listed.???----Listed right here with a few clicks on this page.-----Northern Ontario is fairly big I heard.
I just did a search
Looking for parts and manuals the website associated with this forum said parts are unavailable

The right thing to do is break down the date and serial number for a Canadian
Built Merc 200.

But I’m new at this and looking for quick answers
Rather sloppy on my part
But I have two motors that spear to hav the same issue so I gambled there may be a quick reply with what’s going on here and why

Yes Ontario is a big place
How about north eastern Ontario then lol
The Nickel city…

I just went back for a third look
There are sone rubber mounts and bushings available

Maybe I was looking at the wrong engine

I’m just going to hang back and see if there are. Other replies

Two engines with the same symptom is that a fluke ?
Hopefully others familiar with this can share some info and explain this to me
Perhaps it’s an adjustment issue